Commonly Observed National and Religious Holidays 2017


As I remind everyone each year: if you haven’t already done so, it’s time to update your project schedules with non-working days for 2017. Below is a list of commonly observed national and religious holidays, and the dates they are commonly observed. Naturally, you’ll need to confirm which holidays apply to your project team.

And here are instructions for updating the working calendar in MS Project.

Holiday Weekday Celebrated
New Year’s Day Sunday 1/1/2017
Martin Luther King’s Birthday (US) Monday 1/16/2017
Republic Day (India) Thursday 1/26/2017
Chinese / Vietnamese New Year Saturday 1/28/2017
President’s Day (US) Monday 2/20/2017
Ash Wednesday Wednesday 3/1/2017
Holi (India) Monday 3/13/2017
Beginning of Passover Tuesday 4/11/2017
Good Friday Friday 4/14/2017
Easter Monday (UK) Monday 4/17/2017
May Day (China: Labor Day) Monday 5/1/2017
Early May Bank Holiday (UK) Monday 5/1/2017
Victoria Day (Canada) Monday 5/22/2017
First day of Ramadan Saturday 5/27/2017
Spring Bank Holiday (UK) Monday 5/29/2017
Memorial Day (US) Monday 5/29/2017
Shauvot Wednesday 5/31/2017
Eid al-Fitr Monday 6/26/2017
Canada Day Saturday 7/1/2017
Independence Day (US) Tuesday 7/4/2017
Pioneer Day (Utah, US) Monday 7/24/2017
Independence Day (India) Tuesday 8/15/2017
Summer Bank Holiday (UK) Monday 8/28/2017
Eid al-Adha / Festival of Sacrifice Saturday 9/2/2017
Labor Day (US and Canada) Monday 9/4/2017
Rosh Hashanah Thursday 9/21/2017
Yom Kippur Saturday 9/30/2017
Dussehra (India) Saturday 9/30/2017
National Day (China) Sunday 10/1/2017
Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday (India) Monday 10/2/2017
Sukkot Thursday 10/5/2017
Columbus Day (US) Monday 10/9/2017
Thanksgiving (Canada) Monday 10/9/2017
Diwali (India) Wednesday 10/18/2017
Veteran’s Day (US) / Remembrance Day (Canada) Saturday 11/11/2017
Thanksgiving Day (US) Thursday 11/23/2017
Day after Thanksgiving (US) Friday 11/24/2017
First day of Chanukah Wednesday 12/13/2017
Christmas Eve Sunday 12/24/2017
Christmas Day Monday 12/25/2017
Boxing Day (UK, Canada) Tuesday 12/26/2017
Kwanzaa Tuesday 12/26/2017
New Year’s Eve Sunday 12/31/2017


New PM Articles for the Week of October 10 – 16

New project management articles published on the web during the week of October 10 – 16. And this week’s video: TechRepublic explains DevOps in less than two minutes. Safe for work.

Must read!

  • Nick Pisano sees a common trend in widely publicized data breaches: lack of attention to operational security. Nick includes four lessons learned for your review and action.
  • Sue McLean provides an attorney’s point of view in analyzing the root causes of the DAO blockchain hack that bled away $60 million.
  • Karen Chovan puts the three themes of the PMI Global Congress 2016 – North America into perspective: Anticipate. Influence. Elevate.

Established Methods

  • John Goodpasture extracts key points on the unintended consequences of metrics from an article in the Journal of Defense Software Engineering.
  • Harry Hall recommends three books that each teach a different leg of the PMI Talent Triangle.
  • Elizabeth Harrin collected her experience at the Digital PM Summit 2016 in San Antonio in a series of vlog posts. Here are parts 1 and 2.
  • Cornelius Fichtner interviews Dr. David Hillson on applying the stakeholder analysis to reduce project risk. Just 26 minutes, safe for work.
  • Grace Windsor tutors us on the SWOT analysis.
  • Henny Portman reviews “The Good Sponsor,” by Jim Sponsor.

Agile Methods

  • Stefan Wolpers compiles his weekly round-up of Agile-related content.
  • Johanna Rothman begins a new series on the roles Agile coaches and managers play in facilitating collaboration.
  • Mike Cohn anticipates flu season with a list of which Scrum meetings can (and cannot) be re-scheduled in the event someone cannot attend.
  • Dave Prior interviews Juuka Lindstrom on his efforts to transform Cargotec into a digital organization, and what he’s learned along the way. Just 32 minutes, safe for work.
  • Ramesh Pala examines the nature of unplanned work and explains a few approaches to planning for it.
  • Chris Savoie tells how Agile methods made his IT teams happier.

Applied Leadership

  • Laura Barnard summarizes the transition to leading: stop doing!
  • Venkatesh Rao interviews Kim Malone Scott on radical candor, the subject of her forthcoming book. Just 38 minutes, some harsh language.
  • Art Petty notes that the principle barrier to our career transformation is our own inertia.

Technology and Techniques

  • Keith Duncan explains how integrated product development roadmaps help communicate the strategic plan and how it will be executed.
  • Brendan Toner tells you how to pimp your pad – iPad, that is.
  • Ravi Shankar explains how to avoid messing up Big Data analytics.

Working and the Workplace

  • Soma Bhattacharya reviews the consequences of work-related stress, the stages we progress through, and the proven techniques for counteracting it.
  • Bruce Harpham shines a light on key statistics reported in the “State of Enterprise Work Report” from Workfront.
  • Elise Stevens interviews Scotia Lockwood on how to do your own career planning. Just 16 minutes, safe for work.
  • Bertrand Duperrin examines the extended enterprise, where the freelance expert is both more common and frequently in a leadership role, and makes the case for an HR role.


New Article on AITS: Defining Status Metrics: RAG, Trends, and Transitions

AITSBloggingAllianceMy latest article for AITS was published today: Defining Status Metrics: RAG, Trends, and Transitions.

You can’t manage what you don’t measure, and you can’t effectively communicate your measurements if there are no well-understood units of measure. I explain the rationale for selecting project-relevant dimensions, in addition to the usual schedule, budget, and quality, in order to make the status report meaningful and actionable. I also include an example of a complete scope description of one dimension, and how each RAG status will be determined. I also include guidelines for transitioning from one color to another and considerations for reporting trends.

As always, thanks for taking the time to read my stuff.