Commonly Observed National and Religious Holidays 2015

2015If you haven’t already done so, it’s time to update your project schedules with non-working days for 2015. Below is a list of commonly observed national and religious holidays, and the dates they are commonly observed.Naturally, you’ll need to confirm which holidays apply to your project team.

And here is a post with instructions for updating the working calendar in MS Project.

Holiday Weekday Celebrated
New Year’s Day Thursday January 1
Martin Luther King’s Birthday (US) Monday January 19
Republic Day (India) Monday January 26
Chinese / Vietnamese New Year Thursday February 19
President’s Day (US) Monday February 16
Ash Wednesday Wednesday February 18
Beginning of Passover Saturday April 4
Good Friday Friday April 3
Easter Monday (UK) Monday April 6
May Day (China) Friday May 1
Early May Bank Holiday (UK) Monday May 4
Victoria Day (Canada) Monday May 18
Memorial Day (US) Monday May 25
Spring Bank Holiday (UK) Monday May 25
Shauvot Monday May 25
First day of Ramadan Thursday June 18
Canada Day Wednesday July 1
Independence Day (US) Saturday July 4
Independence Day (India) Saturday August 15
Summer Bank Holiday (UK) Monday August 31
Labor Day (US and Canada) Monday September 7
Rosh Hashanah Monday September 14
National Day (China) Thursday October 1
Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday (India) Friday October 2
Yom Kippur Wednesday September 23
Eid al-Adha / Festival of Sacrifice Thursday September 24
Sukkot Monday September 28
Columbus Day (US) Monday October 12
Thanksgiving (Canada) Monday October 12
Diwali (India) Wednesday November 11
Veteran’s Day (US) / Remembrance Day (Canada) Wednesday November 11
Thanksgiving Day (US) Thursday November 26
Day after Thanksgiving (US) Friday November 27
First day of Chanukah Monday December 7
Christmas Eve Thursday December 24
Christmas Day Friday December 25
Boxing Day (UK, Canada) Saturday December 26
This entry was posted in IT Management and tagged by Dave Gordon. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dave Gordon

Dave Gordon is a project manager with over twenty five years of experience in implementing human capital management and payroll systems, including SaaS solutions like Workday and premises-based ERP solutions like PeopleSoft and ADP Enterprise. He has an MS in IT with a concentration in project management, and a BS in Business. He also holds the project management professional (PMP) designation, as well as professional designations in human resources and in benefits administration. In addition to his articles and blog posts, he curates a weekly roundup of articles on project management, and he has authored or contributed to several books on project management.