Commonly Observed National and Religious Holidays 2020

As I remind everyone each year: if you haven’t already done so, it’s time to update your project schedules with non-working days for 2020. Below is a list of commonly observed national and religious holidays, and the dates they are commonly observed. If I missed an important holiday, or got the date wrong, please leave a comment below so I can make corrections. Naturally, you’ll need to confirm which holidays apply to your project team.

And here are instructions for updating the working calendar in MS Project.

Holiday Weekday Celebrated
New Year’s Day Wednesday 1/1/2020
Martin Luther King’s Birthday (US) Monday 1/20/2020
Lunar New Year Saturday 1/25/2020
Republic Day (India) Sunday 1/26/2020
President’s Day (US) Monday 2/17/2020
Ash Wednesday Wednesday 2/26/2020
Holi (India) Tuesday 3/10/2020
St. Patrick’s Day (Ireland) Tuesday 3/17/2020
Good Friday Friday 4/10/2020
Easter Monday (UK) Monday 4/13/2020
Beginning of Passover Sunday 4/19/2020
First day of Ramadan Friday 4/24/2020
May Day (Labor Day in most countries) Friday 5/1/2020
Early May Bank Holiday (UK) Friday 5/8/2020
Victoria Day (Canada) Monday 5/18/2020
Ascension Day Thursday 5/21/2020
Eid al-Fitr Monday 5/25/2020
Memorial Day (US) Monday 5/25/2020
Spring Bank Holiday (UK) Monday 5/25/2020
Shauvot Friday 5/29/2020
King Kamehameha Day (Hawaii) Thursday 6/11/2020
Canada Day Wednesday 7/1/2020
Independence Day (US) Friday 7/3/2020
Pioneer Day (Utah, US) Friday 7/24/2020
Eid al-Adha / Festival of Sacrifice Friday 7/31/2020
National Day (Switzerland) Saturday 8/1/2020
Independence Day (India) Saturday 8/15/2020
Summer Bank Holiday (UK) Monday 8/31/2020
Labor Day (US and Canada) Monday 9/7/2020
Rosh Hashanah Saturday 9/19/2020
Yom Kippur Monday 9/28/2020
National Day (China) Thursday 10/1/2020
Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday (India) Friday 10/2/2020
Sukkot Saturday 10/3/2020
Thanksgiving (Canada) Monday 10/12/2020
Columbus Day / Indigenous People’s Day (US) Monday 10/12/2020
Day after Thanksgiving (US) Tuesday 10/13/2020
Dussehra (India) Sunday 10/25/2020
Veteran’s Day (US) / Remembrance Day (Canada) Wednesday 11/11/2020
Diwali (India) Saturday 11/14/2020
Thanksgiving Day (US) Thursday 11/26/2020
First day of Chanukah Friday 12/11/2020
Christmas Eve Thursday 12/24/2020
Christmas Day Friday 12/25/2020
Boxing Day (UK, Canada) Saturday 12/26/2020
Kwanzaa Saturday 12/26/2020
New Year’s Eve Thursday 12/31/2020

This entry was posted in IT Management by Dave Gordon. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dave Gordon

Dave Gordon is a project manager with over twenty five years of experience in implementing human capital management and payroll systems, including SaaS solutions like Workday and premises-based ERP solutions like PeopleSoft and ADP Enterprise. He has an MS in IT with a concentration in project management, and a BS in Business. He also holds the project management professional (PMP) designation, as well as professional designations in human resources and in benefits administration. In addition to his articles and blog posts, he curates a weekly roundup of articles on project management, and he has authored or contributed to several books on project management.

Leave a Reply